Sorry, keine Thumbnails gefunden.

Max was the first student ever to write his master’s thesis with us. Max was able to complete his studies in product development (Integrated Design Engineering) at Otto-von-Guericke University Magedburg with a practical master’s thesis in our company. The aim of his work was to develop a device for automating a selected production step. In addition to building the prototype, he is now also involved in the development and construction of further modules of our production facility. We are happy to have him with us. His willingness to help, his manual skills and his constant humor characterize him.

Won! We were awarded as “Best EU backed sustainability startup” out of over 1000 European start-ups, by pitching in front of over 100 international investors. We thank the jury, consisting of 3 highly knowledgeable venture capital proffesionals, and Dealflow.eu. With this award, we receive financial support from the Dealflow.eu venture building team to keep growing as a company. We are very happy to have received this price as the first LIFE project. Europe’s most innovative, early-stage sustainability start-ups which have an immense scale-up potential have been recognized. Congratulations to the other two winners too, Teraloop Oy and Enerpoly!

Today is International Biodiversity Day. At madebymade, we are tackling the issue of biodiversity head on: by replacing soy and fishmeal as protein sources with the insect protein we produce. Fishmeal is used in aquaculture feed and contributes greatly to the overfishing of our oceans. Soy also has a devastating impact on biodiversity, as immense amounts of rainforest are cleared in the Amazon region for its cultivation. Extrapolated, each German claims 127m² of soy cultivation area for consumption in Brazil alone! The Rainforest Conservation Fund estimates that between 4000 and 6000 animal species disappear annually due to this deforestation. Here, alternatives are urgently needed, such as our insects. We’re part of the solution.

 Mathias is our financial juggler. His extensive experience in controlling, accounting and in the support of funding projects (including EU & SAB projects) make him an important link between our shareholders and external partners. Together with Yannik, he has already been with us since October 2019 and is thus one of the “old hands”. Controllers have a reputation for working less visibly in the background. But it doesn’t work without communication and a constant eye on our numbers. His cooperative and focused way of working is contagious and he makes excellent coffee.

Our colleague Maricruz Bermudez Serrano has been with us for three months. At our company, she ensures the continuous high quality of our products. With her background as food engineer and her experience in food safety and quality management, she has the best prerequisites for us. In a project with the University of Leipzig, she is working on the implementation of our larvae as feed for crayfish. In her master’s thesis, she dealt with the potential of cricket meal. As an insect enthusiast, she is exactly right here. Welcome on board, Maricruz!

We are grateful to be among the last 7 finalists of the most innovative early stage sustainability start ups! We were selected by Dealflow of the EU, an investor platform that supports promising startups. Our LIFE funded project Waste2Protein is the first LIFE project to be selected. We are honored! After an online pitch of all nominated companies the decision will follow on May 20th. All information about the competition can be found here.

Newsletter

December 2020

Project information

The project Waste2Protein is entitled „Pilot plant for insect protein production from biowaste as sustainable alternative to fish and soy meal for animal feed“  (LIFE 18 ENV/DE/000011). The LIFE program is the EU’s funding instrument for the environment and climate action, which began in 1992 and has to-date co-financed more than 5,400 projects. The general objective of LIFE is to contribute to the implementation, updating and development of EU environmental and climate policy and legislation by co-financing projects with European added value.

Project location

Pegau, Germany

Objectives

By 2050, the demand for animal protein will be 75% higher than it was in 2007 due to population growth in combination with an increase in meat consumption. Today, 70% of agricultural area is used for production of feed for animals; this inevitably leads to a shortage of feed for the increasing demand for livestock. Insects as an alternative source of protein are able to fill this gap. Feed experiments have shown that insect protein can in in fact replace conventional protein sources such as soy and fish meal. The increasing demand for fish meal has led to overfishing and loss of biodiversity; the cultivation of soy takes place on cleared forest areas.

The LIFE Waste2Protein project fosters the use of organic residues as a resource for the production of insect protein from larvae of the Black Soldier Flies (BSF). Insect protein meal is a sustainable and environmentally friendly alternative to soy and fish meal in the feed stuff industry. The project implements the EU’s waste and circular economy approach by closing the loop and using resources in an efficient and sustainable way. Specific project aims are as follows:

Partner

AviComp Controls GmbH is a leading independent engineering contractor and a provider of superior Engineering consultancy services. The Company is our local partner, located in Leipzig. They specialize in the development and commissioning of industrial control systems.

Financing

Project budget in total:   2,795,247 Euro        
Financial funding by the EU: 1,238,001 Euro (55%)

Time period

Start:15.07.2019            

End: 14.01.2023

Networking: other LIFE projects

LIFE BAQUA – Full recovery of banana plant resiudes to aquaculture feed and plastics.

LIFE Food2Feed – Transformation of Hotel Food residues into animal feed.

LIFE Brewery – Full recovery of brewery residues to aquaculture feed.

This is Dennis, our reproduction manager. As a biologist and insect enthusiast he has the ideal qualifications to take care of all our animals. He deals with the feed composition of our crayfish in the project TEMIFUGA which we run together with the University of Leipzig. He is also responsible for the well-being of our flies and our young animals. His constant smile and good mood inspire us as his colleagues and positively shape the entire team spirit. Like our colleague Dr. Justus von Sonntag, Dennis has also been with us for one year. Absolutely a reason to celebrate. Looking forward to more great years!

From now until 2027, the EU will provide more funding and introduce new sub-programs to the LIFE program. These new programs include Nature and Biodiversity, Circular Economy and Quality of Life, Climate Change Mitigation and Adaptation, and Clean Energy Transition. LIFE program funding will increase by nearly 60% for the next period. Since 1992, the LIFE program has supported the development of about 5500 projects. LIFE contributes to several European policies, such as the EU Biodiversity Strategy to 2030, the Circular Economy Action Plan, the Renovation Wave Strategy and the Green Recovery from the Covid 19 pandemic. We welcome the continued expansion of LIFE and look forward to more green initiatives like ours.

Max schrieb als erster Student überhaupt seine Masterarbeit bei uns. Sein Studium im Bereich Produktentwicklung (Integrated Design Engineering) an der Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg  konnte er mit einer praxisnahen Masterarbeit in unserem Unternehmen abschließen. Ziel seiner Arbeit war die Entwicklung einer Vorrichtung zur Automatisierung eines ausgewählten Produktionsschritts. Neben dem Bau des Prototyps ist er mittlerweile auch an der Entwicklung und dem Bau weiterer Module unserer Produktionsanlage beteiligt. Wir freuen uns, ihn bei uns zu haben. Seine Hilfsbereitschaft, sein handwerkliches Geschick und seine ständige gute Laune zeichnen ihn aus.

Anlagenentwicklung: von jetzt an vergrößern wir unseren Impact durch unsere standortunabhängigen, skalierbaren Anlagen.

Reststoff Verwertung: unsere gesamte Produktion ist zero Waste und wir nutzen ausschlißelich regionale Reststoffe als Input.

Nachhaltige Proteine: in unserer Anlage entstehen nur nachhaltige Produkte durch das Vereinen von Kreislaufwirtschaft und hoch automatisierter Technik.

Gewonnen! Wir wurden als “Best EU backed sustainability startup” aus über 1000 europäischen Start-ups ausgezeichnet, indem wir vor über 100 internationalen Investoren gepitcht haben. Wir bedanken uns bei der Jury, bestehend aus 3 hochkarätigen Venture-Capital-Professionals, und Dealflow.eu. Mit dieser Auszeichnung erhalten wir finanzielle Unterstützung durch das Dealflow.eu Venture Building Team, um als Unternehmen weiter zu wachsen. Wir sind sehr glücklich, dass wir diesen Preis als erstes LIFE-Projekt erhalten haben. Damit wurden Europas innovativste Nachhaltigkeits-Start-ups in der Frühphase ausgezeichnet, die ein immenses Scale-up-Potenzial haben. Herzlichen Glückwunsch auch an die beiden anderen Gewinner, Teraloop Oy und Enerpoly!

Heute ist internationaler Tag der Biodiversität. Wir bei madebymade gehen das Thema der Biodiversität direkt an: indem wir Soja und Fischmehl als Proteinquellen durch die von uns hergestellten Insektenproteine ersetzen. Fischmehl findet im Futter für Aquakulturen Anwendung und trägt stark zur Überfischung unserer Meere bei. Soja hat ebenfalls verheerende Auswirkungen auf die Biodiversität, denn immense Menge an Regenwald werden im Amazonas Gebiet für den Anbau gerodet. Hochgerechnet beansprucht jeder Deutscher alleine in Brasilien 127m² Sojaanbaufläche für den Konsum! Der Rainforest Conservation Fund schätzt, das zwischen 4000 und 6000 Tierarten jährlich durch diese Abholzung verschwinden. Hier werden ganz dringend Alternativen benötigt wie zum Beispiel durch unsere Insekten. Wir sind Teil der Lösung.

Mathias Arndt ist unser Finanzjongleur. Seine umfangreiche Erfahrung im Bereich Controlling, Accounting und in der Betreuung von Förderprojekten (u.a. EU & SAB Projekte) machen ihn zu einem wichtigen Bindeglied zwischen unseren Gesellschaftern und externen Partnern. Zusammen mit Yannik ist er bereits seit Oktober 2019 bei uns und gehört somit zu den „Urgesteinen“. Controller haben den Ruf im Hintergrund, weniger sichtbar zu arbeiten. Doch ohne Kommunikation und den ständigen Blick auf unsere Zahlen läuft es nicht. Seine kooperative und konzentrierte Arbeitsweise ist ansteckend und er kocht ausgezeichneten Kaffee.

Seit drei Monaten ganz neu mit dabei: unsere Kollegin Maricruz Bermudez Serrano. Bei uns stellt sie die kontinuierlich hohe Qualität unserer Produkte sicher. Mit ihrem Hintergrund als Lebensmittelingenieurin und ihrer Erfahrung im Bereich Lebensmittelsicherheit- und Qualitätsmanagement hat sie hierfür die besten Voraussetzungen. Im Projekt mit der Universität Leipzig beschäftigt sie sich mit der Implementierung unserer Larven als Futtermittel für Krebse. In ihrer Masterarbeit beschäftigte sie sich mit dem Potential von Grillenmehl. Als begeisterte Insektenenthusiastin ist sie bei uns genau richtig aufgehoben. Willkommen an Board, Maricruz! Wir freuen uns, dass du bei uns bist!

Wir sind dankbar, unter den letzten 7 Finalisten der innovativsten early stage Nachhaltigkeits Start ups zu sein! Wir wurden ausgewählt vom Dealflow der EU, eine Investoren Plattform, welche die erfolgversprechenden Start ups unterstützt. Unser LIFE gefördertes Projekt Waste2Protein ist das erste LIFE Projkt, welches unter diese Auswahl kommt. Wir fühlen uns geehrt! Nach einem Online Pitch aller Nominierten Unternehmen folgt am 20. Mai die Entscheidung. Alle Informationen zum Wettbewerb findet ihr hier.

Newsletter

Das Projekt Waste2Protein trägt den Titel „Pilotanlage zur Herstellung von Insektenproteinen aus Bioabfällen als nachhaltige Alternative zu Fisch- und Sojamehl für Tierfutter“ (LIFE 18 ENV/DE/000011). Das LIFE-Programm ist das Finanzierungsinstrument der EU für Umwelt- und Klimaschutzmaßnahmen, welches im Jahr 1992 begann und bis heute mehr als 5.400 Projekte kofinanziert hat. Das allgemeine Ziel von LIFE besteht darin, durch die finanzielle Unterstützung von Projekten zur Umsetzung, Aktualisierung und Entwicklung der Umwelt- und Klimapolitik sowie der Gesetzgebung der EU beizutragen.

Projektort

Pegau, Deutschland

Ziele

Bis 2050 wird die Nachfrage nach tierischem Eiweiß aufgrund des Bevölkerungswachstums in Kombination mit dem Anstieg des Fleischkonsums um 75% gewachsen sein im Vergleich zu 2007. Bereits heute werden mindestens 70% der landwirtschaftlichen Fläche für die Herstellung von Futtermitteln für Tiere genutzt; dies führt unvermeidlich zu einem Futtermangel aufgrund der steigenden Nachfrage nach Protein. Insekten als alternative Proteinquelle können diese Lücke füllen. Futterversuche haben gezeigt, dass Insektenprotein in der Lage ist, herkömmliche Proteinquellen wie Soja- und Fischmehl zu ersetzen. Die steigende Nachfrage nach Fischmehl und Soja hat zu Überfischung beigetragen und zum Verlust der biologischen Artenvielfalt geführt.

Das LIFE Waste2Protein-Projekt fördert die Verwendung von organischen Reststoffen als Ressource für die Produktion von Insektenprotein aus Larven der Schwarzen Soldatenfliege. Insektenprotein ist eine nachhaltige und umweltfreundliche Alternative zu Soja- und Fischmehl in der Futtermittelindustrie. Das Projekt setzt den Ansatz der EU zur Abfall- und Kreislaufwirtschaft um, indem es den Kreislauf schließt und Ressourcen effizient und nachhaltig nutzt. Spezifische Projektziele sind:

Partner

AviComp Controls GmbH ist ein führender Ingenieurdienstleister, der Ingenieurberatung anbietet. Das Unternehmen ist unser lokaler Partner mit Sitz in Leipzig. Sie sind spezialisiert auf die Entwicklung und Inbetriebnahme industrieller Steuerungssysteme.

Finanzierung

Projekt Budget Insgesamt:2,795,247 Euro

Anteil der EU:1,238,001 Euro (55%)

Zeitraum

Start:15.07.2019            

Ende:14.01.2023

Networking: Andere LIFE Projekte

LIFE BAQUA – Vollständige Umwandlung von Bananenpflanzenresten in Aquakulturfutter und Kunststoffe.

LIFE Food2Feed – Umwandlung von Hotelreststoffen in Tierfutter.

LIFE Brewery – Vollständige Rückgewinnung von Brauereireststoffen in Aquakulturfutter.

Das ist Dennis, unser Reproduktions-Manager. Als Biologe und Insektenenthusiast bringt er die idealen Voraussetzungen mit, um sich um all unsere Tiere zu kümmern. Er beschäftigt sich mit der Futterzusammenstellung unserer Krebse im Projekt TEMIFUGA welches wir zusammen mit der Universität Leipzig betreiben. Außerdem liegt in seiner Verantwortung das Wohlbefinden unserer Fliegen und unserer Jungtiere. Sein stetes Lächeln und seine gute Laune beflügeln uns als seine Kollegen und prägen den gesamten Teamgeist positiv. Wie unser Kollege Dr. Justus von Sonntag ist Dennis in diesem Monat seit einem Jahr bei uns. Absolut ein Grund zum Feiern. Wir freuen uns auf weitere tolle Jahre!